PDA

View Full Version : How Many Window Do You Need to Get the Job Done?

PaleNxtTel
2015-05-03, 05:56 PM
I have changed my job many times in the past ten years. At one point of time, I was a drive-test engineer. At another, I worked as an in-building RF solution designer. Even more, I held a position as a software designer. And then there are the obvious ones: planning engineer and optimization engineer. And more.

Each position comes with its own suite of softwares and tools that you have to use to get your job done. While some positions will require only a few, others will need a handful of tools to do a thorough job.

Let us get more specific and consider the duties of an optimization engineer. These poor people struggle with hundreds of parameters that are intertwined in a complex way such that a change in one affects hundreds others. You know this very well when you wake up in the morning only to find that changing that 20-letters-long parameter for a single cell has brought to you ten complains in an overnight. No, regretting will not help.

At that point, your loyal tools come to rescue. Some of these tools, which you use on a normal day, are:

1. Email client. Your Microsoft Outlook or Mozilla Thunderbird is more important than what you think. Besides getting your payroll notification, other important things take place there.
2. Business Intelligence. Your data are big. Softwares like BusinessObejcts are necessary to see, manage and report the data generated every unit of time in a comprehensible manner.
3. Complaint Tracking. If you are (un)fortunate to be responsible for tracking customers complaints, then you need this.
4. Access to the Operation and Support System (OSS). This is provided generally from a vendor-provided tool that allows you to make the changes to the OSS.