PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Tilt

sakibd2k
2010-08-10, 08:58 AM
HI Everyone,

I am new to RF forum as well as not enough experience in Rf job.
I want to know how electrical tilt is performed?(practically)and so remotely(RET)
I know it is by phase change but how we can change phase angle?
Is it the phase of power? but how?

Is there any relation with VSWR and so ATU(Antenna tuning unit) for this tilting purpose?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

Mushfiq

Tomas Delgado
2010-08-10, 10:54 AM
Hi mate, is like this. If you remember transmission line theory, EM waves have a freq and a wavelenght that in mean of meters in the feeder counts. So you can change phase with the lenght of the transmision line inside the antenna. Inside antenas maybe you have 4 to 6 dipoles so if you change phase to the ones in the upper part in a total the signal will be more greater in the upper dipoles and in some vectorial sum it will make the beamwidth go down. Well i think its ok, if not please tell me the thruth.

gc_sw
2010-08-10, 04:25 PM
practically (mechanically) tilt is done by tilting antenna physically. but this results in "increased front lobes" on the other hand "decreased back lobes" of the antenna. but in electrical tilt both of the lobes increase.

gc_sw
2010-08-10, 04:28 PM
http://www.rfsworld.com/index.php?p=314&l=1

sakibd2k
2010-08-10, 11:27 PM
Thanks For replying everybody.

To Tomas,i see your answer acceptable and i know by varying the length of cable to dipole we can have different phases and so following your quote
" So you can change phase with the lenght of the transmision line inside the antenna" is close to my answer.

But thats where my problem how are you changing feeder length remotely
for just changing electrical tilt? thats why i do not get it. Feeder(transmission line) are huge and changing length frequently is not a quite easy thing for installer.

Something i am missing here.

Please let me know.

Thanks

pathloss
2010-08-10, 11:53 PM