Thanks Thanks:  10
Showing results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: A UMTS Sector has 2 UARFCN?

BannedUser Reputation: 10

Default A UMTS Sector has 2 UARFCN?

Why are there two UARFCN under each sector of a UMTS cell? These 2 UARFCN has the same scrambling code! Some says, one of these is for Release99 and the other one is for HSDPA, is this really the case? I am confused because unlike a GSM sector which only has a single ARFCN intended for its BCCH. I am an Optimizaton Engineer starter.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Member Reputation: 36

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.

Default Re: A UMTS Sector has 2 UARFCN?

Hi Ojigece,

Some operators use two carriers instead one over same sector for each umts cell. Each carrier have a different uarfcn, and may be or not have the same scrambling code.

If the operator has enough band width assigned to use, he can have more than one 5Mhz carrier for cell.

best regards,

Member Reputation: 277

Dear,

in GSM you have Frequency planning so that you have different ARFCN/BCCH for each cell, while in WCDMA you have SC planning so that each cell has different SC, SC range from 0 -to-511, so for sure you will have SC reuse, and since WCDMA operate on one frequency all the time, you will fined that each UARFCN is related to one frequency (UARFCN = Freq*5).

Knowing that in one network you can deploy many frequencies (in my country we are using 4 carriers, one of them is U900), and they can be used in too many different scenarios, for example as you said, one Freq fore carrying CS, and other one for PS, can be used for load sharing, deep indoor coverage, DC-HSPA ..

BR,

Quote Originally Posted by Onigece View Post