PDA

View Full Version : Dual Band strategy



justdream
2009-05-28, 09:42 PM
I was discussing some with my manager yesterday some issues regarding new Dual-Band strategy,
I have some inquires, if you could answer:

Why some strategies ask you when you make handover from 900 to 1800, to firstly handover to the target 900 then go up to target 1800 (why don’t make it in on step…..from source 900 to target 1800)???

Another point, if you want to push as most as possible of your offered traffic to 1800, what to do??? As I didn’t understand this part :hug:

hassen
2009-05-28, 09:48 PM
Hi

because gsm 900 is used for coverage and 1800 for capacity

br hassen

justdream
2009-05-28, 09:54 PM
Hi

because gsm 900 is used for coverage and 1800 for capacity

br hassen

I know this point........but please re-explain why we couldn't handover directly from source 900 to target 1800 ???

plannerguy
2009-05-28, 10:35 PM
hi

To my knowledge handovers happen from One sector to other on measurment of BCCH .so your 1800 call will be transfered to 900 TRX of the neighbor sector and then pushed to 1800 .

1800 is not used in BCCH , it is in Hopping




Regards
Plannerguy

justdream
2009-05-28, 10:47 PM
1800 is not used in BCCH , it is in Hopping

Sorry, why not?
In my network we have 1800 BCCH and TCH, as shown 'or you are speaking about another issue :confused:'

plannerguy
2009-05-29, 12:00 AM
Hi freind

I thaught you were speaking about 1800 capacity, oK if you are having 1800 as BCCH then it may be due to level of signals reaching there.Defintely 900 will have a better level so that may be the issue.else we ahave to look for HO parameters.




Regards
Plannerguy

RF engineer
2009-05-29, 12:37 AM
You can have directly handover from 900 to 1800 in case you don't apply specific parameter to give priority . and if you want to push traffic to 1800 change layer threshold for example for 1800 from -75 dBm to -85 dBm and HO margin from 900 to 1800 put 0dB and from 1800 to 900 put 10dB so you will have more traafic on DCS.

rheyra
2009-05-29, 01:02 AM
Hi my friend,
You can do that, but as Hassen said that GSM900 has bigger coverage, so making handover to GMS900 first is an ideal way to avoid lack of coverage during call in mobility.But in inner city issue (which coverage is not a problem), we can remove this idea, and push your traffic to DCS1800, but remember that you have to make sure that DCS1800 has wider band than GSM900.

Another of your question regarding how to push traffic to DCS1800, I believe that your network is Siemens, I saw your neighbor sample (siemens dbase type) :p You can look at your HAND parameters (such as PL, HCS, HOAVQUAL, HOAVLEV, etc...), also your ADJ parameters (such as HOM, PLNC, RXLEVMIN, TINFAIHO, TINBAKHO, etc..) and also your idle parameter in BTS parameters (such as RXLEVAMI, CRESOFF, CRESPARI, CELLRESH, etc...). Please do learn for these parameters first, and after that please reply with another of your questions.

Hopefully can help you.
BR//Rheyra
<pls don't forget to add my reputation..)


I know this point........but please re-explain why we couldn't handover directly from source 900 to target 1800 ???

hassen
2009-05-29, 01:16 AM
I was discussing some with my manager yesterday some issues regarding new Dual-Band strategy,
I have some inquires, if you could answer:

Why some strategies ask you when you make handover from 900 to 1800, to firstly handover to the target 900 then go up to target 1800 (why don’t make it in on step…..from source 900 to target 1800)???

Another point, if you want to push as most as possible of your offered traffic to 1800, what to do??? As I didn’t understand this part :hug:
Hi
maybe you are going to use RBS multiband under and overlaid 900 and 1800 with one BCCH frequency 900 first handover inter BSC to 900 cell second Handover intra cell to 1800 channel.

have a good day!
hassen

gprastomo
2009-05-29, 01:45 AM
Hi my friend,

I post this :

http://www.finetopix.com/showthread.php?t=4389

br


I was discussing some with my manager yesterday some issues regarding new Dual-Band strategy,
I have some inquires, if you could answer:

Why some strategies ask you when you make handover from 900 to 1800, to firstly handover to the target 900 then go up to target 1800 (why don’t make it in on step…..from source 900 to target 1800)???

Another point, if you want to push as most as possible of your offered traffic to 1800, what to do??? As I didn’t understand this part :hug:

CERTISCJS
2009-06-08, 05:43 PM
good thanks a lot

basith.aces
2009-06-08, 09:12 PM
Dear Rheyra

Do you have any brief documents about the parameters which you said in your statement like

HAND parameters (such as PL, HCS, HOAVQUAL, HOAVLEV, etc...), also your ADJ parameters (such as HOM, PLNC, RXLEVMIN, TINFAIHO, TINBAKHO, etc..) and also your idle parameter in BTS parameters (such as RXLEVAMI, CRESOFF, CRESPARI, CELLRESH, etc...).
or anybody else can post documents about the above parameters....

Thanks in advance

rheyra
2009-06-09, 08:11 PM
Hi basith.aces,
You can find all those parameters description in siemens database description file. Here is the link:

http://www.finetopix.com/showthread.php?t=2089&highlight=rheyra

Pls don't forget add reputation my friend.

BR//Rheyra

Dear Rheyra

Do you have any brief documents about the parameters which you said in your statement like

HAND parameters (such as PL, HCS, HOAVQUAL, HOAVLEV, etc...), also your ADJ parameters (such as HOM, PLNC, RXLEVMIN, TINFAIHO, TINBAKHO, etc..) and also your idle parameter in BTS parameters (such as RXLEVAMI, CRESOFF, CRESPARI, CELLRESH, etc...).
or anybody else can post documents about the above parameters....

Thanks in advance

justdream
2009-06-29, 10:19 PM
Rehrya

You can look at your HAND parameters (such as PL, HCS, HOAVQUAL, HOAVLEV, etc...), also your ADJ parameters (such as HOM, PLNC, RXLEVMIN, TINFAIHO, TINBAKHO, etc..) and also your idle parameter in BTS parameters (such as RXLEVAMI, CRESOFF, CRESPARI, CELLRESH, etc...).

can you please tell me the meaning with numerical examples of HOmargin, RXLEV_min, RX_access_min

just short notes for each parameter with numerical examples

RF engineer
2009-06-29, 11:15 PM
Dear
normally HO margin is parameter to give you handover priority let say you have 900 and 1800 both are 5 dB if you want to have priority of handover to 1800 what you have to
HO from 1800 to 900 give + value ( let say 10) so means HO from 1800 to 900 must be the Rx level(n)+10.
and HO from 900 to 1800 give - value( let say -5) so means HO from 900 to 1800 will be rx level(n)-5.
so this means HO to 1800 is easier than 900.
For Rx access min is affecting your cell selection ( or access to get control channel) so i have one example which now iam facing with my customer they put value to -110 dBm for some cell try to have all subscribers ( especially roamer) but as you know with this level sensitivity for MS is -102 so it impossible to have good link so change to -104 the performance is improved (CDR and SDCCH drop).

justdream
2009-06-30, 04:48 AM
Thanks a lot RF Engineer,
do you have information about RXLEVMIN (14, 24)?
if you have docs regarding this issues, it will be so great

Thanks a lot

RF engineer
2009-06-30, 04:58 AM
Dear
they are not the same Rx levelmin and Rx access min.
BR

justdream
2009-06-30, 05:02 AM
Dear
they are not the same Rx levelmin and Rx access min.
BR

I know that theya re not the same, hereby I asked about an explanation of the meaning of RXLENMIN with values like 24 & 14

Thanks

RF engineer
2009-06-30, 07:29 AM
oh may be my question is not right
Are they not the same that what i mean .
then i really not now about, can you just put the description for this parameter that i can help.