PDA

View Full Version : Pushing Nokia N95 to Transmit More Power



andrew
2011-01-02, 08:50 PM
See the attached picture.
Basically, this is a communication path from 3G Power Amplifier (PA) to power controller. When the power controller detected a low voltage from PA, it will tell the PA to rise its power through another path.
Changing the resistor with higher resistance value will drop the voltage to the controller. Thus, the controller will assume that the current power is not enough :p

tremalnike
2011-01-02, 09:26 PM
Interesting , but nightmares of 3G optimization engineers become real :)

punto
2011-01-02, 09:34 PM
If many "tuned" phones of this kind are on the same cell , UL interference would increase big deal, and you would all experience degradation of 3G services ...
I think not a good idea ... this contrl of power in 3G is even more important than it was in 2G

Stepanich81
2011-01-03, 03:15 AM
A transmitt power will be standart 0.25W or more? And constantable or temporarily? It will be contribute of service 3G?

andrew
2011-01-03, 11:18 AM
Yes, this is not recommended for day to day measurement task. But might be useful for someone who need or want more power for special case.

jew2jew
2011-01-05, 09:59 PM
yes. can you change BAND? such NOKIA E5 support WCDMA/HSDPA Tri Band (900/1900/2100 MHz)can change to (850/1900/2100 MHz)

andrew
2011-01-06, 12:46 AM
Things to consider for band changing:
- Hardware: RF IC, filter, etc.
- Software: PM area

In your case (E5), both RM-632 & RM-634 have identical hardware so the only thing you need to modify is at software side. Copy the PM area for bandlock from RM-634 and paste it into RM-632 to modify the frequency. Just in case, do a full backup before overwriting.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

jew2jew
2011-01-06, 03:14 PM
Things to consider for band changing:
- Hardware: RF IC, filter, etc.
- Software: PM area

In your case (E5), both RM-632 & RM-634 have identical hardware so the only thing you need to modify is at software side. Copy the PM area for bandlock from RM-634 and paste it into RM-632 to modify the frequency. Just in case, do a full backup before overwriting.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

it very hard work.