PDA

View Full Version : Worst cell in BSC

electron
2010-07-23, 01:04 AM
Hi all,

Suppose we have KPI for busy hour .How practically we can find most worst cells which affecting BSC performance on TCH and SDCCH drop in E******* system?

Is there any macro or tool?

Thanks

josogun2
2010-07-23, 04:55 PM
Any info on this from the expert?

I will add rep to any useful reply.

mashi123
2010-07-23, 09:06 PM
Hi all
i'm not an expert but i will tell you what i do in my work to get worst cells :

1. first as you said we have to get the statistics of main KPIs for the busy hours . (like call setup success rate , handover success rate , dropped call rate , sdcch drop rate ... etc)

2. for example if i want the worst cells in terms of call setup success rate (CSSR) i will open the document of KPIs in excel and then sort the column that contain the CSSR stat from lowest to highest values

3. of course the lowest values represent the worst cells.

hope this is useful

also you can also make a macro in excel or any programing language that will do this work automatically for you

telwind
2010-07-23, 11:46 PM
excel pivot table is good tool to do it.

s52d
2010-07-28, 07:11 AM
Hi all,

Suppose we have KPI for busy hour .How practically we can find most worst cells which affecting BSC performance on TCH and SDCCH drop in E******* system?

Thanks

Hi!
It all depends on:
- do you understand STS
- do you have access to raw data

What we do: parse all STS files from IOG/APG and generate number of .csv files.
(format is well described in Alex, any secondary school student can do parsers)
Then it is easy for engineers to do SW to look into details: down to last number if needed.
Even openoffice.org is good to make graphs - my tool is fpc and gnuplot.

Now, funny part is: what is worse?
Rural cell with 10 calls and 1 drop has 10% drops.
CIty cell with 10 000 calls and 10 drops has 0.1 % drops.

MBA boss would jump on rural cell: I would do city cell.