PDA

View Full Version : which is better-electrical tilt or mechanical tilt ?

coursekec
2010-07-02, 01:14 PM
I am new to the RF world..can anyone explain me the difference between electrical tilt and mechanical tilt and it's advantages and disadvantages ? which is better if both options are available ?

EJAY
2010-07-02, 02:17 PM
Hi,
For young professionals you can read this simple handouts.
handouts attached for your reference.
No password.
just dont forget reps

Regards,
Ejay

pvbabu79
2010-07-02, 02:41 PM
hi

to my know ledge , electrical tilt is better than mechanical tilt

EJAY
2010-07-02, 02:48 PM
hi

to my know ledge , electrical tilt is better than mechanical tilt
no not really. it depends on the scenario!!!

striker
2010-07-02, 02:55 PM
no not really. it depends on the scenario!!!

i agree with you it's based on scenario..

banisha
2010-07-02, 10:57 PM
Depends of the situation, you can use even both!

adnansid
2010-07-03, 02:26 AM
I am new to the RF world..can anyone explain me the difference between electrical tilt and mechanical tilt and it's advantages and disadvantages ? which is better if both options are available ?

Mechanical Tilt:
Advantage: Decrease coverage and Does not add Interference as in case of Electrical tilts.
Dis advantage: Sector overlaps are increased.
Recommeded for sites which are very high.

Electrical Tilt:
Advantage: Decrease coverage and does not increase overlap in sectors.
Dis advantage: Increases interference, as portion of energy based on electrical tilts is trasmitted in the upper side lobe reducing the energy in lobe facing towards ground hence reducing coverage.

Recommeded for sites which are not very high.

onlygod
2010-07-03, 02:37 AM
Mechanical tilt will decrease coverage lengthwise from the sector, but in width, the coverage will stay the same.